Blueberry & Lemon Buttermilk Cake

IMG_1422-0I know January is usually a time of cutting back on cakes and other baked goodies, but for me, I can’t wait to get trying out my new Christmas presents. Unsurprisingly enough, most of them end up being food-related.
This year, I treated myself to a bundt tin. I’ve been eyeing them up for a while and now I have one, I’m sure a fair few of my cakes will be doughnut shaped in the coming months!

I baked this recipe for the first time with my five-year-old, who loved all the mixing and gobbling of blueberries. We made a few extra and turned them into the most scrummy blueberry muffins too (same recipe but bake for just 20 minutes). I took this lovely moist cake along to a yoga retreat I attended at the weekend , where I managed to get the lovely Amanda White to take a couple of photos for me. Needless to say, there wasn’t much left at the end of it!


image

Ingredients

For the cake:
4 eggs
270g caster sugar
180g unsalted butter, melted, plus a little extra for greasing
150ml extra virgin olive oil
150ml buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
400g self-raising flour
1/2 tsp sea salt
zest of 2 lemons, finely grated
350g fresh blueberries

For the topping:
1 heaped tbsp full fat cream cheese
3 tbsp icing sugar
juice of 1/2 small lemon

Method
Pre-heat the oven to 175C
Grease a 10inch bundt tin (or 9 inch cake tin) with melted butter.
Whisk together the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy.
Beat in the butter, olive oil, buttermilk and vanilla.
Add the flour and salt gradually, beating well until well incorporated and smooth.
Allow to stand for a few minutes to allow the mixture to thicken.
Stir through the blueberries.
Pour the mixture into the tin.
Bake in the oven for 50-60 minutes until well risen and a skewer, when inserted, comes out clean.
Cool in the tin for 10 minutes, then turn the cake out and cool on a wire rack.
image
For the topping:
Beat the cream cheese and icing sugar together.
Add lemon juice until the icing reaches a dropping consistency.
Drizzle over the cooled cake and allow to set slightly before serving.
image

Recipe based on Jamie Oliver’s Torta di Nada from Jame’s Italy

Leave a Comment

